Week 12

il_340x270-652728636_rdm9

Inquiry: A reflection of my learning journey

Here we are 12 weeks on. It has been an all-round amazing learning experience. From working with different social media platforms to identifying, analysing, writing and editing across many media formats to dissecting the English language through grammar and punctuation. The skills I’ve learned have been invaluable. This course has stretched my capabilities several times over and left me mentally exhausted most days. But, I have loved every minute of it.

The reviewing of other students work was one of the most beneficial parts of the course. It allowed for different perspectives of the weekly tasks and assisted me in evaluating my own work. It was also one of the most challenging parts of the course; the recommendations were sometimes daunting especially when you’ve only freshly grasped a concept.

I have always struggled with written submissions, not so much due to my inability to write but I’m a chronic over-thinker and editor. I’m grateful to have gained the knowledge from Kate’s stages of editing (Week 11 study guide) to give this process some structure. This has changed the way I practice media writing for the better.

Thank you Kate, my fellow learners and others I have dragged along for the ride. It’s been such a great experience, one that has definitely pushed me out of my comfort zone. I look forward to developing my writing skills and extending on my interest in blogging. Stay tuned!

Practical: Response to feedback from assignment one

I was thrilled to have receive a distinction for my assignment one – blog draft. I was not so pleased with my misunderstanding of the assignment’s requirement for the peer review. My overall grade reflected my submission of only three peer reviews completed for week four. This was my initial understanding of what I read in the forum. It was definitely not the case after rereading that post. I have since recovered and have a full 11 weeks of reviews to accompany my blog. It was also suggested I proof read my blog again for minor spelling and punctuation errors which I have done. Fingers crossed, I have put enough polish on my work to maintain this mark.

References

Winnie the Pooh (n.d), digital image, Her Campus, viewed 5 October 2016, http://www.hercampus.com/school/millersville/favorite-disney-quotes-hcmers

One Reply to “Week 12”

  1. Congrats on finishing media writing! You remind me of myself – total over-thinker, always editing. You’re right though, the skills we have learned throughout this course will definitely come in handy, especially on our university journey! All the best. x

    Like

Leave a Reply

